Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Administrator
14,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On January 2, 1968, in Coral Gables, Florida I raised my right hand and took the Oath of Enlistment for the US Army.
Before the day ended I was at Fort Jackson, South Carolina Reception Center.
I served 2 years 9 months and 28 days before being honorably discharged as an E-5.
Along the way I was decorated twice for my actions, however I was never a hero. But I am very proud to have served with some.
And damned proud to wear the Red Diamond insignia of the 5th Infantry Division.
It is on the hat I’m wearing today, in fact.
And this coming September, I’m taking my daughter to the 100th annual reunion of the Society of the 5th Infantry Division to meet some of the greatest guys in the world. Guys I was willing to die for, and they were willing to die for me. This is something not found in very many places.

As the US Army slogan goes: “I was a Soldier. I am a Soldier. I will always be a Soldier.”
It is a title that is earned, never given, can not be bought. And it is mine forever.

·
Registered
21,643 Posts
And it is a good thing you are here to speak of it.

·
Registered
4,189 Posts
Always glad to say "Welcome Home" to a brother in arms.

You were starting . . . I was finishing my last trip on the other side of the world.

4/1/68 I got one of them red USNR ID cards . . .

May God bless,
Dwight

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
On January 2, 1968, in Coral Gables, Florida I raised my right hand and took the Oath of Enlistment for the US Army.
Before the day ended I was at Fort Jackson, South Carolina Reception Center.
I served 2 years 9 months and 28 days before being honorably discharged as an E-5.
Along the way I was decorated twice for my actions, however I was never a hero. But I am very proud to have served with some.
And damned proud to wear the Red Diamond insignia of the 5th Infantry Division.
It is on the hat I'm wearing today, in fact.