7.62x39 API
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

7.62x39 API

This is a discussion on 7.62x39 API within the Rifles, SKS, AR, AK, Long Guns forums, part of the HandGuns, Pistols and Revolvers, Long Rifles, Shotguns, SKS, AK, AR category; What are API rounds actually capable of? Can they take out car engines? I'm really new to this round and guns in general and I ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: 7.62x39 API

7.62x39 API

What are API rounds actually capable of? Can they take out car engines? I'm really new to this round and guns in general and I couldn't find too much info about these.

I have shot a bunch of junk cars in my life goofing around and looking at 5 he damage. Any rifle will break a motor block on a car. Obviously the bigger the rifle the more effective. No doubt a 7.62 x 39 will damage the block on the average car. It may take more than one to stop it and it will take time for the water and oil to leek out. Same situation with a bmg 50 just less shots and less time.

A 12 gauge slug will definitely do it. So will a 270.
    MisterX likes this.

So API 7.62 would definitely do the trick.

4. Remove Advertisements
    PrepperForums.net
    Advertisements

I have some but never shot any. I'm saving it for 'That day".
    Take some video for us when you shoot some!

Quote Originally Posted by MisterX View Post
    So API 7.62 would definitely do the trick.
    Not really with 7.62X38 (AK47 and SKS), Now a The 308 AKA 7.62X 51 (NATO) in an AP round different story .
    The 7.62 X 39 losses it's energy quickly
    I am not posting that test on line.
    Last edited by Smitty901; 12-08-2014 at 07:02 PM.
    New life as a house husband, major shift in duties.