Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

7.62x39 API

7K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  luminaughty 
#1 ·
What are API rounds actually capable of? Can they take out car engines? I'm really new to this round and guns in general and I couldn't find too much info about these. :)

#2 ·
I have shot a bunch of junk cars in my life goofing around and looking at 5 he damage. Any rifle will break a motor block on a car. Obviously the bigger the rifle the more effective. No doubt a 7.62 x 39 will damage the block on the average car. It may take more than one to stop it and it will take time for the water and oil to leek out. Same situation with a bmg 50 just less shots and less time.

A 12 gauge slug will definitely do it. So will a 270.

#5 · (Edited)
Not really with 7.62X38 (AK47 and SKS), Now a The 308 AKA 7.62X 51 (NATO) in an AP round different story .
The 7.62 X 39 losses it's energy quickly
I am not posting that test on line.

#6 ·
AP and API are not the same. AP=Armor Piercing, API=Armor Piercing Incendiary.
If you really have API, let us know where you got them, I'd love to have some.
As far as AP and engine blocks, I once took a head on, through the grille opening, (no radiator) shot at an old wrecked Plymouth to see what M2 AP (30-06) would do to the block. Distance was maybe 40 yards. I was in the kneeling position for a fairly steady aim. Projectile hit the V-8 block right where the cylinder head bolted on, ricocheted back, struck me in the knee (another inch and it would have got my intestines). The copper jacket separated at some point after impact with the engine and struck the person standing next to me in the face.

#11 ·
I have some 7.62X51 and X39 API I got from a friend years ago. I haven't shot the X39 but did shoot a few rounds of the X51 a few years ago and it certainly worked just fine :)
Can you even buy this stuff? Is it legal to purchase if you happen to stumble on it on-line?

#12 ·