Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

vehicle hardening?

3K views 21 replies 15 participants last post by  PaulS 
#1 ·
so im reading " One second after " and i'm wondering. how to harden my B.O.V.. Its a 1985 K5 Blazer.?

#2 ·
Get a jeep than the possibilities are endless haha just bugging have you dun any mods to it yet? I'd first got with a big steel bumper with a winch never know when you are going to have to push a car out of your way or pull your self out of some shit that's what I would do fist any ways than get in to off rode lights lift and tiers but that's just me

#3 ·
Lifting this week!! Got 36's for it and I'm a welder so I'm starting the build of exterior roll cage and roof rack. I've designed a kinda rack that's a lot like the horizon 4x4 trailer. Gonna build a large steel bumper out of a large abrasion resistant steel bumper with a type of cow catcher on hydraulics. I build but tables and angle line and drill machines so the options are limitless.

#4 ·
I think you might mean "hardening" against EMP? The easy way is to just get a spare electronic igniition modual and a spare computer (maybe) and put the spares in a faraday cage to protect them. Have a mech teach you (if you dont know) how to change out the fried one after the EMP. I may be wrong , but maybe someone else could comment.

#6 ·
I own a 83 blazer and all I did was put a points distributor on it and it is emp proof, it has no computer. I'm not completely sure the HEI ignition would suffer in a EMP but I rebuilt a 350 4 bolt from a 69 Camero and it had one so I used it.

On your 85 you would need to replace the throttle body injection with a carberator and new intake manifold as well.

That's a way to completely bypass the electronics problems, faraday the computer and distributor for barter later.

Reactions: jc-hunter
#7 ·
Get rid of anything that uses IC (Integrated circuits.) Only robust electronics like electric motors, heavy cable, will survive.