Can't decide which bag to use
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on Can't decide which bag to use within the General Prepper and Survival Talk forums, part of the Survivalist, Prepper, Bushcrafter, Forest Rangers category; Hey y'all, First post so bear with me. I'm new to prepping and could use some advice on a good Bug out bag choice. First ...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By SecretPrepper
  • 2 Post By Reptilicus
  • 2 Post By Slippy

Thread: Can't decide which bag to use

Hey y'all,

First post so bear with me. I'm new to prepping and could use some advice on a good Bug out bag choice. First off, I have a 3 year old child that I would have to carry for as well, please try to keep this in mind. I have two packs at my disposal a "Standard backpack (from college) and a big 'ole internal frame backpacking ruck. My major concern is large capacity vs maneuverability.

The standard backpack has very comfortable straps but no buckle across the chest and no kidney pads or buckle. it has two main compartments (one with a divider (for a laptop) and two smaller compartments with many sub-compartments, plus two pockets that can hold a 1 Liter water bottle each. My best guess is that it can hold about 30-45 pounds (at least of textbooks). I have taken it at about that weight on 10 mile test hikes and only experienced mild discomfort that comes with backpacking. It is discrete, that way as I get the hell out of Dodge it doesn't look like I have a pack full of life saving gear just ripe for the taking.