Anybody know how to an a hide ?
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on Anybody know how to an a hide ? within the General Prepper and Survival Talk forums, part of the Survivalist, Prepper, Bushcrafter, Forest Rangers category; Im halfway through brain tanning a moose hide. Its my first attempt and its not going as smooth as id hoped. I need somebody experienced ...

Im halfway through brain tanning a moose hide. Its my first attempt and its not going as smooth as id hoped. I need somebody experienced so I can ask a few questions.

I've never used brain to tan with....I've tanned some hides, and probably don't do it right by the books standards, but my way works.

What are you having problems with? Have you tried to find an answer on the internet?

Never tanned a moose, but here is a guide from a Canadian Indian elder that should help:

Moose hide tanning as explained by an Ojibwa elder.
    Some days, you should just stay home in bed....

Hidden Content

4. Remove Advertisements
    PrepperForums.net
    Advertisements

I have done quite a bit of internet research and have quite a few books on the subject. They are mostly ... Is it supposed to look like/ be doing this sort of questions lol.
    For my first attempt its not bad. Ratty and full of holes but its a learning experience.
    Its been fleshed and soaked in bucking solution and I'm trying to grain/membrane it now.
    Its quite stained from god knows what... Dirt and such.
    The hair came off quite easily and I really couldn't figure out how deep to go. Im not sure how to explain this...