~Beer+Ale, Aging and Prime Selection Record~
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on ~Beer+Ale, Aging and Prime Selection Record~ within the General Prepper and Survival Talk forums, part of the Survivalist, Prepper, Bushcrafter, Forest Rangers category; I love beer! I love ales! I started this thread to share with you all some of my in process methods of storing beer and ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By

Thread: ~Beer+Ale, Aging and Prime Selection Record~

I love beer! I love ales! I started this thread to share with you all some of my in process methods of storing beer and ale for consumption years down the road. I welcome any knowledge on the matter as I am by no means an expert. Here are some insights into storing beer and ale.

1. Selection of the beer or ale is vital to it aging well. For instance you cannot age a bud light or many other American massed produced beers. Specialty beers and ales are the way to go. The higher the alcohol content the longer they last. Three of my favorite ales that are carried in most well stocked grocery stores are Belhaven 5.20% ABV , Maredsous triple 10.00% ABV , and Delirium Tremens 8.50% ABV. So pick your favorite ales and beers and let me know so I can try them!

2. Light is your enemy when it comes to storage. Just like with food the light degenerates the quality of the product quickly. Store in a dark cellar rather than a fridge. I wrap my bottles in tin foil so much light cannot enter into the bottle when I enter the cellar for a dose or organize whatnot. Look for bottles that are dark brown. Brown bottles are chosen by me because they do not allow as much light to enter.