Layering Buckets Question
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on Layering Buckets Question within the Food, Health and Fitness Survival forums, part of the Survivalist, Prepper, Bushcrafter, Forest Rangers category; I'm storing food for 3-7. I'm new to using FG buckets and oxygen absorbers. My plan is to store grains, beans, rice and green coffee ...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Layering Buckets Question

I'm storing food for 3-7. I'm new to using FG buckets and oxygen absorbers. My plan is to store grains, beans, rice and green coffee and a few other things in buckets. If a 5-gallon bucket holds about 36 lbs. of those items, you would have several buckets taking up a lot of space open at any time just for core staples. So, I loaded up some gallon Mylar bags then stuck a couple in a bucket to see how they fit. Not an efficient way to pack a bucket. Next thought was layering a bucket with 4 or 5 bulk foods, but how to keep the layers separate. I thought back to the days when my mother bought used feed bags to make clothes. Did some research. Cotton needs to have oxygen to prevent deterioration. More research and no ideas yet.

Anybody layering their bulk foods? If so what are you using to separate your layers?

The coffee, wheat and oats in the gallon bags will go in totes with good lids, which may be better than buckets any way.

Hmmmm. 5 items.... in a 5-gallon bucket?

If my math is correct, 5 one-gallon mylar bags should fit.
    Slippy likes this.
    Prepping is not a destination... it is a journey.
    Visit my YouTube page: Hidden Content

Quote Originally Posted by Back Pack Hack View Post
    Hmmmm. 5 items.... in a 5-gallon bucket?

If my math is correct, 5 one-gallon mylar bags should fit.