Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

Experiment - Mineral Oiled Eggs

4K views 33 replies 19 participants last post by  oddapple 
#1 ·
So I've read on here and other sites about extending the shelf life of eggs by coating the egg with mineral oil. I've been doing this for about 2 months now. I coated the eggs thoroughly with mineral oil and have been storing unrefrigerated in a darkened closet for 2 months now.

So today I decided to test some out and see if it truly works like I have read. My first batch was oiled 9/21 making them 2 months old as of yesterday. My first observation was that there is absolutely no odor from the whole uncracked egg. I crack open the first egg, braced for the smell of rotten egg but again, absolutely no foul odor. The egg smells perfectly fine.

I decide to fry it up. I notice that the white seems to separate from the yolk quite a bit unlike a typical fresh fried egg. Made it difficult for flipping the egg but all in all no big deal. You can see what I mean in the 3rd pic.

The scary part, the taste test. I really don't want to end up in the ER with salmonella poisoning. All I can say is it tastes exactly like a fresh fried egg. No odor, no weird taste. Really hope I don't get sick lol.

I now have a pot boiling on the stove to see how they do hardboiled and how easily the shell peels off.

If I don't get sick then this has really extended my families food stores. I have over 30 more dozen eggs in the pantry right now.

Food Egg yolk Ingredient Tableware Dish
Food Egg yolk Tableware Fried egg Egg white
Food Ingredient Tableware Cuisine Dish

See less See more
#2 ·
I guess if you stop posting, we'll know your DEAD! :eek:

Good Luck,
AJ

#5 ·
You'll be fine.The mineral oil replaces the washed off natural oils and will preserve the egg for months without refrigeration.

A female member on another forum who taught me about mineral oil just recently ate 10 month old eggs and they were fine.