Navigation...Land Nav techniques
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on Navigation...Land Nav techniques within the General Talk forums, part of the General Discussion category; Being a retired Soldier I have done a lot of navigation... Most of it years before the GPS became main stream.. I was one of ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Navigation...Land Nav techniques

Being a retired Soldier I have done a lot of navigation... Most of it years before the GPS became main stream.. I was one of the top finishers in the annual Orienteering challenge at Ft. Stewart Ga. and successfully completed the Ranger land Nav course and the Special FOrces "STAR" course. I wanted to open a thread where folks talk about navigation...land water ways, etc...that has nothing to do with satellites or electronic devices. So If your idea of land nav is put destination into Garman and follow british chicks voice prompts...please do not reply. For the rest of you... talk about how to make a compass.... how to get from point A to point B and back to point A...etc. I will add my 2 cents in as we go...but Land nav is not easy...and is it no joke...it's a skill...an art at times...but more importantly it will and can save your life.

Sweet thread SF! I'm very interested and look forward to learning from all the responses.
    Rise to the challenge. Embrace the suck.

Be ready. Be practical. Be humble.

without a topographic map or a good road map I'm kinda screwed, I have a alright sense of direction... sometimes

civilian grade, if you can read a road map without any nav aids you are doing very well (so many people can not read the simplest of all maps) and don't understand what a legend is