Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum banner

What is the best prepping you can do for practically 0 dollars (I'm a student)?

3K views 24 replies 17 participants last post by  yooper_sjd 
#1 ·
I'm a student living in a city of low population (80,000) in the plains of Alberta, therefore there is vast expanses of farms and grass fields around, with very few trees and practically no lakes or rivers compared to the rest of Canada (and I assume a lot of the states as well). With that in mind, what can I really do to prepare?

Aside from trying to educate myself with everything and anything possible relating to prepping.

#5 · (Edited)
Physical fitness. Running and push ups are free. Utilize the library for information on plants, filtering water, making a shelter and so on. All free. Think about the basics. Water, shelter, food, medical, protection, communication. Start slowly and low tech. Read and participate in the forum. Ask questions.

This post has been deleted
#10 ·
Well, not much in life is free.

A member here is making a binder journal of all the posts he has found useful for guidance after the use of a computer is out of the question. Get a pen and pad of paper and start taking notes.

Practice evacuating your residence and look into all the pitfalls that could lessen your chance of success. Repeat and strengthen this response time.

Look at what supplies you currently have and assemble a bug out bag with them. Note what you need and get it when you can afford it.

Look at maps and get to know the streets, parks, rivers, streams, lakes around you well enough that you are able to navigate with a compass and a map on foot.

Learn how to sew.

Learn how to start a fire.

Learn how to make water safe to drink.

Learn how to cook.

Learn how to trap, fish and hunt.

Learn how to build multiple shelters out of different resources.

Be humble and listen more than you talk.

#11 ·
well learning is free but practicing what you learn is also free.