Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Concerns about Berkey Water Filter in a Warm Room

This is a discussion on Concerns about Berkey Water Filter in a Warm Room within the General Prepper and Survival Talk forums, part of the Survivalist, Prepper, Bushcrafter, Forest Rangers category; Hello, New forum member here in Florida. I've been using my Berkey filter for about 2 years and I use it daily to keep an ...

Concerns about Berkey Water Filter in a Warm Room

Hello,

New forum member here in Florida.

I've been using my Berkey filter for about 2 years and I use it daily to keep an ongoing rotation of about a week's supply of water in 1-gallon jugs. I recently moved to a new apartment and trying to locate a suitable place for it that's close to the kitchen but not in the kitchen because it has to sit up high enough for me to position the water jugs under it but not so high that I can't reach the top to fill it with water.

I have a great laundry room right off the kitchen that houses my stackable laundry unit and a small deep freezer. There's plenty of room for a small table and the Berkey but I'm concerned about the higher temperatures and humidity in that room when the dryer is running. Should I be concerned about growth in the water? Is it better to keep the Berkey in a place where the temperature is more normal?

Thanks in advance,

Anne

Look at it this way - When the fecal material impacts the oscillating atmospheric manipulation device, it won't matter - you will have higher temps and more humidity in ALL of your rooms. And isn't that why you got the Berkey in the first place? If you can't trust it to function in less than ideal circumstances now, then why are you betting your nuts on it in the future?
    KG7NDC