evaluating solar chargers.
Register

Welcome to the Prepper Forum / Survivalist Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

This is a discussion on evaluating solar chargers. within the Alternative Energy (Wind, Solar, Hydro etc) forums, part of the Off-Grid Lifestyle category; I want to buy a solar setup (one or two panels to set on the ground or install on the roof of my RV with ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By csi-tech
  • 1 Post By MaterielGeneral
  • 1 Post By csi-tech
  • 1 Post By budgetprepp-n

Thread: evaluating solar chargers.

I want to buy a solar setup (one or two panels to set on the ground or install on the roof of my RV with a controller). I am new to this and I'm just learning. The Mono panels look to be what are best suited for me but I'm not sure how to size everything. I have two 80 amp hour lead/acid batteries and I have a crappy old converter in the camper. I have installed a 750W inverter in addition to the converter. I am doing the calculations for power usage and the batteries should stay well above 50% for what I expect to use. I replaced all of the bulbs with LEDs and I will be running a 24" TV, a Directv receiver and a blue ray player. Not all at once of course. I live in the South so sun time is usually not an issue.

What I need help with is sizing the solar panels. I can afford as much as two 160 watt panels but is that overkill resulting in wasted energy? Should I look at perhaps two 100 watt panels or maybe even a single 160? I really like the Zamp portable kit but man is that expensive! I have a generator for the heavy lifting (Air conditioner, microwave, hotplate etc.) All I need from my batteries is the receiver, TV, lighting, phone charging, a laptop and a few LED lights at a time.
    "There is a destiny that shapes our ends, Rough, hew them as we will."